Loopholes

“Do not reward yourself with food, you’re not a dog.”

Quite a statement, isn’t it? I like it because it’s true. We use treats to train animals, reward them when they do something correctly. The problem with this is that it becomes habit; the animal then expects a treat every time they follow through with a specific command. Why would you want to create a habit for yourself  that has you eating junk? Isn’t that what got you in this position to begin with?

Now I’m going to talk about my worst loophole. As I mentioned in my first post, “I had been creating ‘loopholes’, allowing for those moments where I was weak and wanted cookies or ice cream.” What I meant is that I would get weak and crave junk food, so I would literally tell myself  “you’ve done so well this week, you deserve a treat.” You may ask yourself “what’s wrong with just allowing yourself a small amount?” Well, if you’re like me then there is no “allowing”, because old habits are hard to break, and the cravings can be stronger than your will.

If you have a significant other you could always ask them to hide the junk food for you, however, they have to be strong enough to tell you no and not give in when you beg for more. I don’t trust that method.  Losing weight is my choice, I’m not going to leave someone else in charge like that. Plus, I know he’d give in to me anyway, and that defeats the purpose. The best thing to do is not buy the junk food in the first place! Leave it at the store where it belongs. If it’s not in the house, you can’t eat it.

If you feel you just can’t go without and need that instant gratification, make a healthy snack. Make something that looks bad but isn’t, trick your mind. In doing so, you will satisfy your need for a tangible reward and fool your body into thinking it got away with having junk food. To help you out with that, below are 2 recipes you can try.

Oatmeal Cookies (without adding sugar or flour)

Healthy No-Bake Cookies – you can substitute Splenda, or some other sweetener, for the sugar.

**

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Loopholes

  1. Pingback: RIP Diet | Diet Riot Girl

Leave a Reply

